The History of the Anchor Inn



The Anchor Inn is set in one of the most picturesque and unspoiled parts of Rural Sussex and lies on the west bank of the River Ouse, four miles upstream from the county town of Lewes. 


Built in 1790, the original Anchor Inn catered for horse drawn barges travelling up the Ouse, from Newhaven to Slaugham, with variety of cargo including brick used to build Balcombe Viaduct for the railway in 1846. The construction of the railway caused the decline of river traffic, and the last barge moored at the Anchor Inn in 1861. 


The Anchor Inn continued to be used by the few locals in the area, until the Innkeeper was caught in the ‘sport' of smuggling, and the Inn Licence was confiscated in 1895. 


In 1895, the property was acquired by Sir William Grantham of Barcombe Place and was responsible for several alterations to the building. He incorporated several ship timbers and posts taken from old windjammers, which can be seen supporting the main porch. The licence was then regained in 1963.


In 2009, we took over the Anchor and have tried maintain the character of the building but also added essential modern additions to help cater for our customers.